Phew…

Okay, over the course of the past semester I have come to accept a few things.

First, I’m a terrible blogger.

Not that my posts are actually terrible — some of them are pretty good; most are, shall we say, at least mediocre. I’m sure there are a few real losers in there, too, but this is a blog. I am both the content department and the editing department. Sometimes the content department takes a vacation; sometimes the editing department does.

The problem is that I’m inconsistent and I despise being chained to a schedule … so I just kind of write whatever, whenever. Now and then, for inexplicable reasons, people notice that I’ve written something and comment on it. That’s always pretty edifying.

Second, I am weak.

How weak?

About $2,000 worth of weak.

Yes, that’s right: I bit the bullet and dropped some of my hard-saved (not hard-earned, as I have done nothing to earn it but get good grades, which I would be doing anyway, because I’m completely OCD about my GPA) cash on a really, really nice bike.

How nice, you ask?

Internal cable-routing nice. SRAM Apex nice.

This nice:

This nice:

This nice:

This is a 2013 Specialized Tricross Disc Comp. For now, it’s known as the Tenacious Tricross … and I loves it, I do.

No, I didn’t really need it: the Mighty Moto was doing reasonably well as a commuter and so forth, and survivably as a gravel-racing bike. However, I really wanted something that would let me run fatties without angst (angst gets stuck in your chainstays). I also wanted discs for braking capability in all conditions. I thought about buying a frame, stripping most of the bits off the Moto, and then building something up — but after doing a bunch of math, I realized it made more sense just to buy a whole bike.

Likewise, I thought about a less-expensive model, but realized that I have been spoiled by my road bike’s wheelset, and that if I bought something with a really meh-tastic wheelset, I would inevitably find it necessary to spend a bunch more on another wheelset.

So I ran a sort of cost-benefit analysis, discovered that the Tricross Disc is, in effect, four bikes in one and all-around awesome. The Comp model is a very nice machine with some very nice components, and I’m enjoying mine. It’s possible that I would’ve been just as happy with the next model down, but I feel confident that, like the Fearsome Fuji, the Tenacious Tricross is a bike that I won’t soon outgrow (especially not at the rate I’m going).

So, actually, this was a pretty considered decision, and one I’m glad I made, though part of me is still reeling from the impact on my savings account.

Third, I am — by a longshot — a much better student than I am a homemaker. Perhaps this should tell me something.

I was actually sweating one of my grades this semester. Ironically, it was my grade for a Pass/Fail class with essentially no class work or assignments: basically, I had to show up for four class sessions and attend a total of six concerts (in which I did not perform) over the course of a semester. Specifically, I was worried I’d somehow failed to sign in on one or more of the class dates. I got my grades back today, and I passed, so I was apparently just looking for something to worry about.

Anyway, I’m on break now, and my parents’ descent upon the house is behind us (we all had a great time), so I’m hoping to do a bit more riding and writing … though my lungs are still way furry as result of a recent chest cold, so it might be slow riding.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2012/12/19, in bikes, gear, thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. “angst gets stuck in your chainstays” is probably my favorite quote now. :)

    That is a terribly nice bike. I didn’t know it had internally routed cables. I’ll try not to drool

    • The great thing about the internally-routed cables (fully housed all the way!) is that it doesn’t matter if drool gets all over ‘em :D

      I am quite in love with the Tricross, myself. It is a very sweet little ride.

  2. You’re such a crazy bike nerd. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

