January 500, Week 3

I’ve started this week off with a rest day.  I had a bunch of math homework to do, and I spent most of the day working on that (and kvetching about the MyMathLab system which, in fact, I quite like when I’m using it correctly).  

I’ll need to average seventeen miles per day for the remainder of the month, which shouldn’t be too hard to accomplish.  If you happen to be participating in the January 500 (or you enjoy math), you probably realize that this puts me just a hair behind schedule, but I won’t be for long.  My total ride distance (23 miles) on Monday will bump me back ahead.  

Rather than doing 17, 17, 17, 17… I’ll do 23 Monday, probably around 15 Tuesday, 23 Wednesday, something like 33 on Thursday.  That’ll put me at 94 miles for the week, about 25 miles short of the 7-day goal.  Chances are good I’ll get out for a longer ride on Friday and another on Saturday.  Sunday I’ll be ringing bells.

The biggest challenge I’ve encountered this semester is figuring out how to eat – on school days, I often don’t eat enough, so I’m trying to get that fixed so I don’t go nuts on non-school days and eat everything in sight.  Last Wednesday, I brought stuff to make sandwiches, and I think that’s going to do the trick.

Sandwiches won’t keep me on a wheat-free diet, but they do keep me from starving.  Last week’s Monday commute was a bonky bust; Wednesday was much better, though it was also a much more hectic day, mainly because I brought four slices of rye bread, two ultra-thin slices of Swiss cheese, some turkey, and some horseradish sauce.  At school, I turned all that into a couple of pretty good sandwiches – man, I love horseradish sauce!  

I forgot my green stuff on Wednesday, so I’ll have to make sure I don’t forget it this week.  I’ll be heading into the kitchen in a few minutes to make up my containers of greens, meat, and cheese.

It probably seems weird that I keep all my sandwich stuff separate until I’m ready to eat, but I still have some challenges with texture.  Things go down better when they’re separated until the last moment.

So … uh … to break it into a couple of neat bullety lists … here’s the plan:

Ride Plan

  • Monday: 23 Miles
  • Tuesday: 15 Miles
  • Wednesday: 23 Miles
  • Thursday: 33 Miles
  • Friday?
  • Saturday?
  • Sunday: Bells, so possibly no riding.

Food Plan

  • Breakfast: Cereal with Almond Milk or Oatmeal; Mandarin Oranges
  • Lunch, School Days: turkey and provolone on rye, spinach and raw mixed greens, horseradish sauce
  • Lunch, non-school days: Ummm…
  • Dinner, School Days: turkey and provolone on rye, spinach and raw mixed greens, horseradish sauce
  • Dinner, non-school days: Ummm…

Obviously, there are still a few holes in this plan.  We’ve got a bunch of leftovers hanging around that we need to eat, so those will be on the menu in one way or another.

The sandwich parts are packed and ready to go; all I need to do in the morning is throw an ice brick in the lunch bag and roll.  Maybe I’ll bring some pickles, too, to keep the potassium up.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Learning to live with bipolar disorder. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2013/01/13, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

