I, Sir, Am An Idiot.

I am a horrible planner (is this supposed to be news?).

So, Death March is March 9th, and even if I wasn’t already registered for Death March, I wouldn’t skip Death March for a circuit race that’s really more of a criterium (the website for the Long Run Park race even says so). Besides, my registration fee for Death March includes a t-shirt and a naked burrito bar.

As such, I will very likely not be doing the Long Run Park race, unless I can get one of those handy-dandy Time Turner thingies from the Harry Potterverse and so forth, or figure out a way to be in two places at one time (both races are in the same time zone and start at roughly the same time, so just training so hard that I can feasibly race both in one day by completing one and riding straight on to the other is right out).

That said, I did bite the bullet and purchase a UCI racing license for this year (just in time to learn about the complete clusterfarm involving the pressure-washers that were supposed to keep things rolling at the Masters’ races last week). The idea was, “Hey, maybe if I drop $60 on a racing license, I’ll feel like I have to use it, and stop making half- … ah … -baked excuses about training and racing.”

At any rate, it’ll be harder to make the excuse, come ‘cross season, that I Don’t Have A License And It Will Take Too Long To Get One And I Don’t Want To Stand In Line For A One-Day License When I’m Already Nervous About Racing And Feeling Fat In My Team Kit.

For what it’s worth, I do not plan to be anything like “fat” come ‘cross season, and there are some sane people who argue that I am not anything of the sort right now … but I know myself well enough to know that I will feel fat in my team kit even if it’s hanging from my very bones because I weigh 88 pounds and am too weak to swing a leg over the saddle.

So I have a license to race and I plan to use it, even if I just use it for ‘cross come fall. That said, I have identified an actual road race that is only 146 miles way, but unfortunately it’s the weekend prior to Death March.

From a training perspective, that’s probably a bad plan — two early-season race weekends, back-to-back, with little or no chance for recovery between. Moreover, I am pretty sure there’s not a snowball’s chance that I could get clearance from Denis for an out-of-town race that weekend on such short notice. If I’d put it on the calendar back in November, maybe.

Spring Break weekend, on the other hand, offers a few tantalizaing X-Roubaix options, one of which I’ve already drooled over (Barry-Roubaix). There are also a bunch of other options on the horizon through the months of April and May and a couple more outliers later in the year. None are particularly close (except a Time Trial in Seymour, IN, which is somewhat close), but few are so horribly far away as to be absolutely impossible.

Anyway, that’s it for now. I suppose I should sit down with Denis later and actually plan 2013′s racing season. Right now, though, I want to get some stuff done so I can get out and ride.

The sun is shining, the birds are singing, and the road is calling!

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2013/02/07, in plans, races. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

