Best Birthday Evar!

So my birthday was awesome.

Or, rather, the whole weekend appertaining thereto was awesome: on Saturday, I got to go ride bikes with my friends from Lexington and chow down on pizza while my beloved husband steam-cleaned every rug in the main part of the house.

On Sunday, my mother-in-law, Phyllis, joined us for an exceptionally good dinner catered by our friend Kelly, who is the kind of person who could turn old shoe leather into a gourmet meal. She brought us smoked lamb; Israeli couscous with zucchini, feta, olives, preserved lemon, and some other tasty stuff; sweet potatoes with tart cherries and the distilled essence of awesomeness; and home-made hummus with pita triangles.


My birthday dinner. Mine! Hands off!

This is bike fuel, the primo high-test edition! Also, I hope our dining room will continue to look awesome for a while.

Though I didn’t ride on Sunday (against all my best plans, I totally failed to even break the bike out of the garage), I felt awesome this morning and laid down a blistering sprint to get around a recycling truck that started rolling just as I swung wide to pass it. I dropped that truck like it was standing still. Um, which, eventually, it was, but not at first. Small victories.

This week’s calendar is packed with Death March prep events. Tomorrow, Timothy and I have a mapping session on the calendar, and on Sunday we’ll be up in Brown County doing recon. It’ll be good to get a sense for how the Tenacious Tricross manages gravel, not to mention a sense of whether or not I need to make a few fit adjustments prior to race day. Right now, I’m feeling pretty solid about the bike’s fit as it is, but if anything needs to change, I’ll definitely know after Sunday.

In terms of my training goals for the month, I’m sitting on 147 miles for the month and starting to work in some harder efforts. I’m also on top of school stuff to a comfortable degree. I need to get rolling on a couple of major projects soon, but I’m seriously excited about both of those (besides which, neither is due before Death March).

I’m also feeling pretty fit and healthy. That bodes well for the racing season, which is good, since I finally bit the bullet and got a USAC license. I’m using it, in part, to blackmail myself into training for ‘cross this fall.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Learning to live with bipolar disorder. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2013/02/11, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Niiiice. Happy birthday! :) So glad to see you had a great time, and I envy your friend’s culinary skills. Too bad those can’t be shared democratically.

    And this cycling video’s for you. Enjoy!

    • Ha! I love this! I am trying not to be this guy. Which I, sadly, all too often am. Every time I hear the phrase “Ceramic Bearings,” this video flashes before my mind’s eye :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

