A Highly Scientific Investigation

I am learning all kinds of useful things about myself now that I’m willing to suck it up and admit A) that I get sick rather easily and, while I can’t do much about that, I should do all I can to comply with treatment recommendations in order to reduce down time and B) that “rest” does not mean “riding your bike only fourteen miles on the weekdays instead of twenty-three and maybe only twenty-five or so on the weekend.”

For example, I’ve learned that I can handle being confined to bed for about 1.5 days.

Tuesday, I felt pretty awful, and while I accomplished a few things in the morning, once I came back from our NP’s office, I just crawled into bed and stayed there. Yesterday, I was still feeling too terrible to really get up and do anything. I spent the whole day in bed, watching horrible TV shows, under the close supervision of Nurse Furbelow (whenever Denis or I are really ill, Merkah spends the whole day at the foot of the bed or sofa, refusing to budge even when the bowls are filled until whichever of us isn’t home gets home to care for the other, purring all the while).

Today, thanks to the miracle of prednisone (not to mention one and a half days of rest and two solid nights’ sleep), I am feeling something more like human. Thus, of course, I am now missing my bicycle and finding it difficult to keep lying down.

The downside is that I’m still too short of breath to do much of anything (I did succeed in cleaning the catbox and running a few loads of laundry), and certainly too short of breath (and too inclined to bone-jarring coughing fits) to head out on the bike or even ride the trainer (if I had one of those little pedal-y things that you stick on the floor — this sort of thing I would no doubt be using it, but I don’t).

As such, I’ve been making some long-overdue gear updates: the Fuji got real road bike pedals for … erm, whatever winter holiday road bikes celebrate (in the Fuji’s case, I think we can best call it “The Off Season”) ages ago, and I finally got around to getting the right cleats for them, so today I mounted the cleats on my road bike shoes. I won’t be sure that the cleat placement is dead-on ’til I can get on the bike, of course, but at least they’re in the right general spot now.

I’m also busy figuring out what to pack for Death March, which is only a couple weeks off now.

I’m guessing that this weekend’s populaire is right out. Better to take it easy and miss the event I haven’t paid for than overdo it and not only miss Death March (which does involve an entry fee) but also cause Timothy to miss out. He’s done a lot of good work planning our route this year, and that would not be cool.

Okay, that’s it for now. I really have nothing exciting to report other than this: the fact that I’m capable of being stir-crazy says I must be on the mend, right?

More soon.

Keep the rubber side down!

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2013/02/21, in gear, health. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

