Woohoo! We Got An F*!

*That’s as opposed to a DNF, by the way.

I haven’t had a chance to upload my Strava data yet, and I don’t know what our exact standing in the rankings was, but Timothy and I finished Death March this time. w00t!

This is a nice way to start off this year’s racing season, after last year’s ignominious collection of DNFs.

It was a tough ride, with more off-road action than I’ve ever done in my entire life (one of the off-road cemeteries was a mandatory control), but I had a fantastic time. My bike handling skills really surprised me, and the Tricross really proved itself capable in the rough stuff (even with 35s on; I had hoped to acquire some slightly fatter tires, but never got around to it). The trails were muddy and sloppy. I rode stuff I definitely would’ve walked last year and powered across creek crossings that I’ve previously approached with trepidation.

As far as I’m concerned, that’s a win for me. We kicked last-year usses’ butts, and as Denis pointed out, in the end, your most important competitor is yourself.

All told, it was a rewarding experience — a fun day in the saddle with plenty of bike-nerd camaraderie, and a chance to see to training we’ve put in starting to pay off.

I intend to write a slightly-more-complete ride report, but right now I’m ready to pass out. Tomorrow morning I need to haul my bacon outta bed early and ring bells, then get over to New Albany to visit a friend, then finish a project.

Keep the rubber side down!

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Learning to live with bipolar disorder. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2013/03/09, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

