So … uhhh…

Yeah, you remember that whole thing where I was like, “AI NO GET SIK BEFOAR ALMANZOO!O!!!!1!!”

Ah.

Yeah, so about that…

I have spent the last week going toe-to-toe with Bronchitis, the Rematch. (I’m hoping this only a 2-bout series; frankly, I’d rather ride my bike than kickbox Bronchitis.)

I do appear to be recovering at this point, at least. This past week, I took two exams and handed in two papers, and thereafter I spent two days in bed. I think I might actually manage to lick this without more prednisone, but we’ll see.

I’m hoping to get back in the saddle this week, since it’s Spring Break. It looks like I won’t be logging much in the way of mileage, but I think maybe I’ll just go out, tool around on the 60-pound-folding-mountain-behemoth (I should really post a picture of the good ol’ Behemoth, come to think of it), and ride some trails (slowly).

Might also put some time in on the trainer (the road bike can come back indoors for the time being). The goal is just to keep the legs from falling off completely; I won’t try to make any training gains for the next week or two.

Denis just hooked up with his old GP, and she seems both sharp and very pleasant, so I think I will probably enroll myself (or whatever one does) as a patient in her practice as well. I may need to get back on something like montelukast sodium (which is now available as a generic — hooray!) daily again for a while to get my lung issues back under control. Two bouts of bronchitis in two months is not a good sign.

Fortunately, school is going better than cycling and health stuff. My psych classes are going well (as always), my writing class has been great fun, and I’m starting to really feel like I’m on top of my math class, which is good, and I snagged myself a supervisor (my favorite professor!) for a solo research project I’ve got in the wings. Huzzah!

Next year should be my last year as an undergrad (IhopeIhopeIhope, as much as I never thought I’d ever say that, because I really do love school, but I feel ready to be finishing my Bachelor’s and moving on [to the next phase of school, of course]); I’m hoping to graduate in May of 2014. I’m on track for that unless I wind up having to cut back to part-time for some reason or another.

Meanwhile, next semester’s schedule is laid out, leaving afternoons free to maybe actually take a dance class or something (Denis will probably nix this idea; he very rightly points out that I tend to overload my plate and then lose my cool when I fumble the whole mess: so while I kind of daydream about taking up ballet again or something like that, I probably won’t just yet, even though I think ballet and bike racing go together like waffles and delicious, nearly pitch-black, organic Indiana maple syrup).

Barring further sequels (“Bronchitis 3: Take My Breath Away,” “Bronchitis 4: Return of the Wheezer”), Almanzo is still on the calendar. The Tricross has now proven itself as a highly-capable gravel racing machine. I’m planning to take it in to get a full tuneup and (I hope) to get the rotors trued up (and/or swapped out; they have picked up a little rust as a result of being out in the salty crap all winter).

Might even do that this week, as I won’t have to do any real commuting of the kind that needs panniers. For my one school trek this week (organ lesson) I can do 7 miles on the road bike with my briefcase slung across my back or with my trusty backpack, no sweat. Well, I might sweat a little, if it’s warm out, but — oh, you know what I mean!

Anyway. The bikes have had a nice vacation. I’ll be reformulating my training plan once I’m up and rolling again. I will also be taking the driver’s exam at some point, acquiring an actual Operater’s Permit, and so forth. That way I can drive the Race Wagon, too, which will mean that Denis doesn’t have to go to all my races, even though he likes to go so we will have somebody waiting “back at the corral” in case of disaster.

Well, I think that about summarizes my week’s non-riding (I really did barely ride this week; I think I put in maybe 14 miles, period). I’m looking forward to warmer weather (even to the obscene and blistering heat of summer).

Keep the rubber side down!

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2013/03/24, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

