Intervals; Ancient and Modern

I actually succeeded in rolling out an interval workout today on one of the best local routes I’ve seen for such things (revealed to me by Tim — thanks, Tim!). This time, my efforts were not stymied by the presence of walk-a-thons or 5Ks in progress.

My ride took me out Algonquin Parkway towards Shawnee Park, where I did the loop twice. I set PRs on the outbound Algonquin-to-Shawnee route and the Shawnee loop. The Algonquin-to-Shawnee stretch put me on the top half of that leaderboard; my PR in Shawnee might’ve bumped me up a place or two but still isn’t all that hot.

This particular workout was supposed to involve ten 30-second intervals spaced one minute apart; in fact, I think I wound up doing something like fifteen, because I lost count a couple of times (“Crap — is this eight? Or is this the second eight?”). I need to figure out some strategy for remembering which one I’m on. Maybe counting backwards will work better?

I have to admit, while I did more than the ten intervals I intended, my efforts were still a little half-baked. I could and should have gone harder. I don’t even have an excuse, really. I was just being a weenie. Today was the first day I’d been out for a serious ride in temperatures above 90F, and I wasn’t entirely sure I was ready for it, so I just sort of fudged it.

Still, some interval workout is better than none, and I did manage to lay down a decent sprint here and there … which got me thinking, on the way home, that I need to really focus more on climbing workouts anyway (not that I shouldn’t do intervals — just that I shouldn’t neglect hills).

On my ride-to-lunch, just before my “real” ride for the day, I also spotted these guys:

Check out the skirt guard on the one in front!

…The guys on G+ mostly think they’re probably reproductions (and I don’t know enough to be able to tell), but I still think they contrast with the Fearsome Fuji pretty nicely.

This weekend is the 46th Annual Wheelmen Meet, so I expect to see a lot more classic bikes roving the streets of Louisville. I’ll try to get pictures!

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Learning to live with bipolar disorder. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2013/06/21, in rides, training. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Do you have a Garmin unit? Andy sets up his interval training on his, and he swears by it. *psst* Get hunky hubby to get you one if you don’t have one. :)

    • I do have one, and it is either the best thing that has ever happened to me, the worst thing that has ever happened to me, or both.

      On one hand, it lets me track all my data! ^-^ On the other hand … it lets me … track … aaaalllllll my data. ._.,

      Setting up interval workouts on it is a great idea! I think I might give that a whirl.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

