Hawt

Today I went out with every intention of slaughtering some hills.

In the end, I wound up managing only 3% of the total for the Rapha Rising challenge because my road bike started Making A Noise.  A Horrible Noise, in fact (most certainly and emphatically not, by contrast, a Joyful Noise): a grinding screech like the death of a thousand steroidally-enhanced cicadas with each turn of the crank under force.

English: 1954 Japanese movie poster for 1954 J...

Actually, it sounded more like this guy.  See that dude right under the title (the red characters)?  That’s what the other roadies out there looked like when they heard my bike. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Obviously, this rendered me a bit hesitant to really apply much force to the cranks.  In turn, that hesitancy pretty much constrained me to glass-pedaling up fairly-shallow grades, which I promptly did.  It also meant I had to re-plan my intended route while riding.  Indian Hills, for example?  Not so much.  Lime Kiln Lane?  No.  Stevenson?  Ha!  Not a chance.

I did do both sides of Cherokee Park and the climb up to Seneca Park.  Riding to and from also involved some climbing, including my favorite set of bang-them-out-at-20-MPH+ rollers.  I could ride back and forth on those all day (except I would get killed making a u-turn at either end of the stretch).  Because there were no other cyclists around to be mortified, and because I can’t help myself, I did get up out of the saddle and hammer those a bit.

But just a bit.

Anyway, much to my surprise, the Fearsome Fuji did not actually catch fire or explode before we got home (and since the garage is still standing, I can only assume it hasn’t done so in the time that has elapsed since then).  I uploaded my data to Strava and discovered, shockingly, that the average temperature (heat index, I assume, but who knows?) on my return ride was 106F.

In other words, hot.

Since it didn’t kill me, I can only assume that I am, in fact, much better adapted than I used to be to heat.  In short, I used to whine when it was hotter than 75F.  You might say I was a heat weenie.

The upside of all this is that I probably lost like two pounds in sweat alone.  The downside is … well, for me there really wasn’t one.  When I was riding, I knew it was hot, and I was so sweaty I looked like I’d just stepped out of the shower, but I didn’t feel like it was blisteringly, searingly, ridiculously hot.

So this whole adaptation thing seems to be possible after all.  I will say that I’m not much for just standing around in the heat, but once I work up a sweat, I seem to do all right.

Anyway, I’m expecting more hotness for tomorrow’s ride, though — it being Monday —  I will be doing that ride in the morning, not in the early afternoon.  I haven’t decided yet whether to suck it up and take the Tricross (which will pretty much mean opting for a solo ride instead of the Fat Forty) or try to figure out how to fix what’s ailing the Fuji without actually being able to drop a new crankset in there just yet.

At this point, it’s seeming more like it’s probably time to suck it up and just order a new crankset anyway.  Not riding the road bike is not an option.  I love it too much.

More climbing tomorrow, then … and the next day … and the day after that.  Maybe a rest day on Thursday again.  We will see.

Keep the rubber side down!

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2013/07/14, in crankarm chronicles, training. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great write-up. I actually enjoy riding in the heat. Just make sure you stay hydrated!

    • Thanks! I’m finding that now that I’m well-acclimated, I’m enjoying it as well. Glad to know I’m not alone :D I will definitely keep on top of the hydration!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

