A Good Start

I banged out this morning’s commute at an average pace of 15.2 MPH — not bad, considering that I basically hit every stoplight I could find south of Oak Street.

My classes went well. My Chem professor is funny and disarming; my Sensation and Perception prof has the kind of dry wit I find most appealing; and my Chem Lab prof is a bit on the side of zany — which, frankly, is really exactly what I want in a Chem Lab professor. My S&P prof is also my Research Methods and Statistics prof, so that covers me for instructors this term.

I have enough time between my morning classes and Chem Lab to eat a fairly leisurely lunch (though today I shoveled my food down as fast as possible in hopes of snagging a good bench in the lab), and it looks like there will only be a few occasions on which we use the full scheduled lab time (2.75 hours) — though I’m hedging my bets on that one, because I tend to work slowly at unfamiliar tasks. Since Chem Lab is on Mondays only, the rest of the week I have only 1 – 2 classes (2 on Wednesday, 1 each on T/R/F).

At this juncture, the semester looks exciting. The distribution of classes early in the day will be helpful in terms of allowing time to get things done (okay, and to ride the bike).

The only drawback in all of this is that I can’t wear contacts or shorts in chem lab, so on Mondays I’ll have to either wear plus-fours (which are legal) or schlep pants or something and I’ll have to bring my glasses (I don’t like to ride in glasses because it means I have essentially no peripheral vision). I will also have to consider whether to wear my mountain bike shoes (instead of my SPD sandals) or bring a change of shoes with me to campus. I am lazy, so I’ll probably wind up just wearing my mountain bike shoes.

My evening commute was slower and relaxed. Tomorrow will be a road-bike day. It’s nice that there are days in my schedule light enough to allow me to ride the road bike to school.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2013/08/26, in life. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. An exciting new world of university sounds like it’s opening up in front of you :) It’s a very different experience to Australian university life – by the sound of it.

    • From what I’ve heard, I definitely think the American university system is a bit unusual! I’m guessing it sort of goes along with our insistence on using the SAE/Imperial measurement system instead of metric and so forth :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

