Coffeeneuring Controle #5, The Regular Bronchitis

I have decided to amend my annual Training Plan.

Every year, two week before Death March and two weeks before Gravel Grovel, for the rest of eternity, I shall pencil in “Bronchitis.”  Evidently, this is a seasonal thing.

This weekend’s riding got scrubbed.  It is hard to maintain an effort on gravel when you feel like you have wool socks crammed into your bronchi and you’re trying to cough them out.

Nonetheless, I did get a Coffeeneuring controle in on Sunday (I was hoping for two this weekend, but Saturday was too chaotic to support one).  Sunday’s trip comprised a six- or seven-mile round trip to the nearest McDonald’s (or, well, the one that’s more pleasant to visit by bike), where I attempted to drink a mocha that was reasonably attractive but burned … roughly how I feel right now.

McDonald's McCafe small mocha.

Believe it or not, I have had good coffee at McDonald’s. Just not yesterday.

In the end I finished about a third of my coffee.  Probably wise anyway; I would’ve been up all night if I’d swallowed the whole thing.

Today I took the last of our Chem lab exams.  It went well, except for the one question involving theoretical yield, which for whatever reason I always forget how to calculate.  That was just one question, though, and no further questions depended on answering it correctly.  After I skipped out of the rest of lab.  I was in the midst of a coughing fit and just wanted to go sit on the bus and forget the world.

Fortunately, we get one “free pass” in lab.  Also fortunately, they had single-dose packs of Dayquil at the school bookstore.  I got one of those and a drink and took it on the bus, which helped some.  Then I rode the bus back to Louisville and rode the bike very slowly the rest of the way home.  I took a new route I discovered a couple weeks ago on our first Coffeeneuring trip.

Now I am home watching the cat ambush his crinkly dragonfly toy.  In a few minutes, we’ll be collecting our friend Michael and going to find dinner.

On the balance, a decent kind of day, bronchitis notwithstanding.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2013/11/11, in challenges, Coffeeneuring2013, health, school. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh, man. I hope you get better soon. I’m still fighting off a head cold, and it doesn’t seem to want to go away even with a beefed-up dosage of Vit. D3. :S Take care of yourself!

    • Eep, hope you get better soon, too! This has been a bad year for it thus far. I think the unstable weather has something to do with it, at least around here. I am taking tons of extra rest and taking it easy on the bike (since cold air freaks my lungs out). I am even considering (GASP!) walking to the bus stop today.

  2. Sorry to hear about the bronchitis, but I’m impressed by your coffeeneuring progress!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

