No Bad Weather … Okay, Except Lightning and Tornadoes

This morning, I kitted up the Karakoram for a nice rainy ride.

I made it about one mile before the lightning that had been playing a little way off started streaking across the sky right on top of me.

I was reminded of a maxim of cycling life in the United States’ midwestern tornado zone: there is no bad weather — except for lightning and tornadoes. You really can’t dress for tornadoes.

Now, lightning by itself isn’t a huge problem, as long as you don’t get struck (thus far, I never have). I still prefer not to ride when it’s right on top of me, in an effort to avoid becoming a Bike Crispy.

Tornadoes, on the other hand, are just not acceptable riding weather. Winds that can suck you up like a giant Hoover, clobber the snot out of you with debris, and deposit your broken body G-d only knows where just don’t really make me want to ride.

Needless to say, I stopped and picked up the #6 TARC bus (which was, conveniently, due in a minute or so anyway) and rode it downtown. I am immensely grateful both for the existence of our bus system and for my bus pass, which allows me to do things like fail to bring any small change and still ride the bus.

In other news, though I probably won’t get to go see any of them because we are booked solid through the next two weekends, if you’re in the LouTown metro and you’d like to see some creative theater, consider checking out the Alley Theater’s Superhuman:a Festival of alternative new plays (a companion, or perhaps a send-up, to the better-known . With offerings like “Bat-Hamlet,” the Superhuman:a Festival… looks like a good time.

We, meanwhile, will be enjoying dinner and dancing with friends from out of town; the Met Live in HD’s broadcast of La Bohème; the Louisville Ballet’s final offering for its 2013 – 2014 season, the contemporary Complementary Voices; and the wedding of our good friends Dave and Diane, at which I will be playing the organ and hopefully not screwing everything up too badly. The following weekend is equally insane, but I can’t remember what exactly is going on.

Okay, I need to go catch the next bus up to school. Keep the rubber side down, and remember: tornadoes are not your friends.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Learning to live with bipolar disorder. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2014/04/03, in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

