On Ballet! – The Definition of Madness…

Is doing the same thing and expecting different results.

I realized yesterday that I’ve been committing this exact folly in class.  As a kid, my weakest point was remembering choreography – but it never occurred to me to try different strategies.  I just struggled along and got it eventually.

So this time, with ‘adult’ (ha!) wisdom and free access to the Inner Google at my fingertips, I decided to find out what methods other people – people who are better dancers than I am – use to remember choreography.

I found a few, and I plan to try them out, starting with these two:
1. Stop following the dancer in front of me, because that makes learning take longer.
2.  Recite the combination in rhythm,  then do it again while marking the combination.  I’ve used this one to sort out Monday’s combo.  I’m hoping to try it again on Saturday.

Anyway, that’s it for now.   More to come!

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Budding researcher. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Learning to live with bipolar disorder. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2014/04/09, in balllet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Set it to music or words – it gives your brain something to tie to what your feet are doing. My mum used to teach ballet and tap – certain moves had their own rhythmic phrases – shuffle, step, pickup change was always ‘a packet of peas’…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

