Read-A-Thon Prep!

I’ve been gathering books (with some help from my school’s book sale, where I’ve found some good titles at $0.50/each) for Dewey’s Read-A-Thon.

The plan is to start with these:

Books for Read-A-Thon: A Separate Peace by John Knowles; The Dancer's Way by Linda H. Hamilton, PhD. and New York City Ballet; and Eminent Dogs and Dangerous Men by Donald McCaig.

An old friend (I’m re-reading -A Separate Peace-) and some new friends waiting for tomorrow.
(A Separate Peace by John Knowles; The Dancer’s Way by Linda H. Hamilton, PhD. and New York City Ballet; and Eminent Dogs and Dangerous Men by Donald McCaig.)

…And this:

La Belle et La Bete

La Belle et La Bete: “Beauty and the Beast” en francais.

I also have a DI Marjory Fleming mystery on tap on the Kindle. Since I have class in the morning, I plan to read that on the bus. I really enjoy Aline Templeton’s books; she writes well, but they’re still very relaxing reads.

I have no idea how much of this snowbank-o-books I’ll make it through, but the idea is to enjoy it rather than to kill myself (kind of like the bike ride I took this evening!).

In other news, general updates:

Monday’s ballet class was a mixed bag — my core was more together, my turns were in some cases pretty good — but my head wasn’t entirely in the game the whole way. I think it was a function of not having slept well at all for a few nights in a row, so I’m hoping to be much better after a good, solid rest tonight. I got “Use your technique; don’t lose your technique,” a couple of times on Monday; while that implies that maybe there’s some technique in here somewhere after all (ha!), I’m hoping I’ll hear a bit less of that. I do get overenthusiastic in the turns, though, sometimes.

I wore my stripey shirt on Monday.

I wore my stripey shirt on Monday. Addendum: I should have captioned this, “Use your technique; don’t abuse your technique.”

Today was the Student Conference (undergraduate edition), and I think it went quite well. Bringing my poster to school (and back) was interesting, as we didn’t have a sufficiently-sized poster tube and I didn’t have time to get one.

I am super, super tired at this point, so I’ll probably turn in pretty soon so I can get a good night’s rest in before class tomorrow.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Blissfully married, ballet-and-bicyle-obsessed gay intersexed boy. Half-baked dancer. Mediocre gravel racer. Learning to live with bipolar disorder. Indiana University Southeast psychology senior (go Grenadiers!). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2014/04/25, in adventures, balllet, life, school and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Looks like some good reading ready for you there! Have fun reading today! #TeamHughes *\o/*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

